Have Questions or Comments?
Leave us some feedback and we'll reply back!

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Phone Number)

    In Reference to

    Your Message


    CHOLOV STAM AND CHOLOV YISROEL

    One of the most
    common areas
    of halacha which
    people have different
    customs is in regard
    to drinking cholov
    stam. What is cholov
    stam? How is cholov
    Yisroel made? Do
    government regulations
    permit the drinking of non-Jewish milk? Do
    those who are stringent have to be concerned
    when a product is made on dairy equipment?
    Does a married woman have to follow her
    husband’s custom? In this issue we will
    discuss the many halachos which apply to
    this topic.
    Milk Made by a Non-Jew
    Chazal made a gezeirah that any milk which
    is milked by a non-Jew is forbidden to drink.
    There is no concern that the non-Jew may
    switch the kosher milk with non-kosher
    milk, since one can easily tell the difference
    between the two, rather the concern is that
    some non-kosher milk may be mixed into the
    kosher milk. Milk which is not under a Jews
    supervision is called cholov akum.
    Side Effects from Non-Kosher Milk
    Many poskim say that cholov akum, or other
    milk which was not properly supervised are
    included in items which stuff up one’s heart
    (spiritually).
    Jew Looking at the Production
    If a Jew saw the production of the milk then
    the milk is considered cholov yisroel. The
    Jew also has to make sure that the container
    used is not the same one used for non-kosher
    milk. In addition, if the Jew comes in and out
    of the room during the milking process, the
    milk is also considered cholov yisroel, since
    the non-Jew expects the Jew to come in at
    any time he would be scared to mix in any
    non-kosher milk. Additionally, a non-Jew
    has to understand that the milk is for the Jew,
    and non–kosher milk may not be mixed into
    kosher milk.
    Sitting outside
    B’dieved if the Jew did not see the whole
    beginning and end, or the Jew did not see
    the utensil it is still considered cholov yisroel
    as long as he was sitting outside. However,
    this is only if there is no non-kosher milk in
    the plant. A Jew who came at the end of the
    milking has not made the milk cholov yisroel.
    If there is non-kosher milk in the plant the
    Jew must be able to see the milking process.
    However, if the Jew sits outside in a manner
    that he would be able to see the milking if he
    stood up then it is considered cholov yisroel.
    The reason less of a watching is required if
    we know that no non-kosher milk is found in

    the facility, is because since there is no non-
    kosher milk present we are not concerned the

    non-Jew will mix in the other milk. However,
    the non-Jew may still exit the facility and get
    non-kosher milk. Therefore, we are lenient
    some what and do not require the Jew to see
    the actual milking, but we require him to sit
    outside and see that the non-Jew does not go
    anywhere.
    There is a well known opinion of the Pri
    Chadash who maintains that there is no issue
    of cholov stam, when there is no non-kosher
    milk present in the entire city. This reasoning
    would also apply where non-kosher milk is
    more expensive or in higher demand than
    kosher milk. Nonetheless, most poskim
    disagree with this ruling, and hold that since
    the gezeira was made that a Jew has to see
    the milking, if this is not met, the milk is not
    permitted. The Chochmas Adom adds since
    the Rishonim and Achronim did not mention
    the opinion of the Pri Chadash it is a proof
    that his opinion was not accepted by them.
    According to the opinion of the Chasam Sofer
    even if one is certain that nothing was added
    to the milk one may not drink the milk. He
    reasons that once the gezeira was made it
    became like a custom and one can not retract
    it.
    Who is considered a Shomer?
    A small boy or girl is considered a watcher
    in this regard and if a young Jewish boy or
    girl watches the milking in any way, the milk
    is considered cholov yisroel. The reason is
    because a non-Jew would still be scared to
    be seen mixing in non-kosher milk. Some
    poskim say the minimum age for this child is
    nine years old.
    Government Regulations
    Aside from the opinion of the Pri Chadash,
    a very famous opinion of Harav Moshe
    Feinstein zt”l on this topic is the following:
    In a place where a government maintains
    strict restrictions and gives penalties to those
    who mix other milk into cow’s milk it is
    considered as if the Jew is present at the time
    of the milking. Knowing is like seeing, and we
    know the non-Jew is in fear of being caught
    altering the cow’s milk. This milk which
    is produced under government control is
    commonly referred to as cholov stam. Others
    disagree with this heter and maintain that
    even if there are government regulations and
    penalties it is not considered as if the Jew saw
    the milk, therefore, this milk is considered
    cholov stam and may not be consumed. One
    of the reasons for the disagreement is because
    government regulations can not be considered
    as if the Jew was there at the milking. In
    addition, the government regulations may not
    create the same fright (mirses) as if a Jew was
    at the production.
    Harav Moshe Feinstein zt”l said that although

    many frum Jews and Rabbonim are lenient,
    and G-D forbid to say that they are doing
    wrong, a ba’al nefesh should be stringent.
    However, one who is lenient has what to rely
    on. Harav Moshe Feinstein zt”l was stringent
    for himself. Others say this was only said if
    you can not get cholov yisroel easily, but if
    cholov yisroel is available then one should
    buy it. Based on this and other reasons, the
    custom in Eretz Yisroel is to be stringent
    since there is readily available cholov yisroel.
    Nonetheless, the custom of many people
    (outside of Eretz Yisroel) is to rely on the
    opinion stated here. It would seem that one
    who is lenient and goes to Eretz Yisroel to
    learn does not have to adopt their custom and
    refrain from eating cholov stam which he may
    have brought from America.
    How Far does the above heter go?
    It is very important to point out that the
    aforementioned heter of Harav Moshe
    Feinstein zt”l only applies to countries which
    have government regulations on the milk
    production. Countries that do not have this
    would not have the heter of Horav Moshe
    zt”l and one would not be able to consume
    non-supervised milk. This was an issue that
    was raised in the Jewish community in South
    Africa since no one fears the government.
    When traveling to this country or to similar
    destinations, one should contact the kashrus
    organizations in these locations.
    Young Children and Women
    According to some, one can be lenient in
    regard to cholov stam for young children and
    women within thirty days of giving birth.
    However, many say one should avoid giving
    such milk to a child who does not need it.
    Giving to those who are Lenient
    One who eats cholov stam is permitted to give
    cholov stam to a person who does not eat it
    (i.e. for Mishloach Manos).
    Non-Frum Jew
    The custom is that one may drink milk from
    a cow that a non-frum Jew milked, while the
    opinion of others is to be stringent.
    Powdered Milk
    Most milk products are not made with regular
    milk, but they are made with milk which is
    turned into a powder, namely milk powder.
    Such products include chocolate and baked
    goods. This is very relevant to those who
    hold of cholov yisroel and wish to eat such
    products.
    Some poskim are lenient and permit powered
    milk even for those who are makpid on
    cholov yisroel. One of the reasons is because
    the gezeira was on milk not milk powder.
    In Eretz Yisroel many were lenient to rely
    on the above opinion, but this has changed
    and the kashrus agencies now use powdered
    milk from cholov Yisroel sources. L’maseh,

    many poskim feel that if one is makpid on
    cholov yisroel he should be mapkid not to eat
    powered milk.
    Dairy Equipment
    One who is careful to use cholov yisroel
    because he is machmir, can still eat foods
    which were cooked in non – cholov yisroel
    equipment. One of the reasons is since the
    custom is to treat cholov stam as a chumra,
    the chumra was only said by drinking milk
    but not milk equipment.
    What exactly does D.E. (Dairy Equipment)
    mean?
    The D.E. designation means that the kashrus
    agency has verified that the ingredients used
    in this product are all pareve. However, the
    product is produced using heat on equipment
    that is also used to produce hot products
    with dairy equipment without any koshering
    in between. The D.E. designation is not
    allowed unless the kashrus organization has
    verified that the company’s standard cleaning
    procedures are such that there is no concern
    that the residual dairy from a prior product
    might make the product in question dairy
    according to halacha.
    Kashering
    A utensil which had cholov stam in it has to
    be kashered with hagalah before using the
    utensil for cholov yisroel. The same would
    apply if the milk was sitting in a utensil for
    twenty four hours.
    While Traveling
    When one is in a place where there is no
    cholov yisroel he can be lenient and drink
    cholov stam even if he is normally makpid
    on it. Some say when going to a non-Jewish
    store to buy coffee and the store has cholov
    yisroel milk there, the Jew should make sure
    the non-Jew opens the milk in front of him,
    because the non-Jew may put in cholov stam.
    One who is not mapkid on cholov yisroel
    obviously does not have this concern.
    Married Woman
    A single woman who ate cholov yisroel
    because she thought it was ossur does not
    have to be matir neder if she gets married to
    a person who eats cholov stam. It is advisable
    when one gets married to decide if one wants
    his family to also be careful about cholov
    stam.

    Cheese from Cholov Stam
    Harav Moshe Feinstein zt”l says even one
    who is makpid on using only cholov yisroel
    nowadays should be aware that it is only a
    chumra (since the government makes sure
    that no other milk is mixed into the cow
    milk). Furthermore, one does not have to take
    the chumra a step further and be stringent

    not to eat cheese which was made from non-
    cholov Yisroel milk. Nonetheless, the minhag

    of many is that one who does not use cholov
    stam does not eat cheese made from cholov
    stam either.
    Hataras Nedarim
    One who did not drink cholov stam because
    one thought it was forbidden and now wants
    to drink it because one realizes it is permitted
    does not need to be matir neder. One who did
    so because of a chumra has to be matir neder
    if one wants to undo the chumra. (However, if
    one holds like the above mentioned Chasam
    Sofer, then hataras nedarim is questionable).
    Cholov Yisroel Today
    In earlier years and in far out locations, a
    Jew would go to a non-Jewish farm, inspect
    the milking pails for cleanliness (or bring
    his own pails), supervise the milking of one
    or two cows, and then transport the milk
    back home. In modern America and many

    parts of Western Europe, where large Jewish
    populations rely on having a constant supply
    of cholov yisroel available, and farms often
    have hundreds or many thousands of cows,
    things are very different.
    Today, there are two formats for contemporary
    cholov yisroel farming: Farms which are
    exclusively cholov yisroel, and those which
    do special cholov yisroel productions only
    upon request.

    Exclusively cholov yisroel farms have full-
    time mashgichim who literally live at the

    farms. In order to assure that mashgichim
    are present or available for every single

    milking session, which are performed round-
    the-clock, each of these facilities has a team

    of two or more mashgichim, so that there
    is always someone on call. Some kashrus
    agencies insist that their mashgichim insert
    cards into punch-clocks at the milking parlor
    every so often in order to guarantee that they
    will be present at the parlor on a very frequent
    basis during milking.
    Non-cholovyisroel farms which schedule
    special cholov yisroel productions dedicate
    specific days for cholov yisroel production
    with a kashrus agency. A mashgiach will
    arrive at the farm for a specified period, first

    inspecting the facility to assure cleanliness
    of equipment from unsupervised milk, and
    then will remain present or pop in and out
    throughout the day while the milking occurs.
    Video Camera
    Today with the advent of modern technology
    one does not have to be present at the
    milking but a video camera can be set up in
    the milking area to see the production from
    all angles. Many say that this is sufficient to
    consider this cholov yisroel and there is no
    need for the mashgiach to actually be present
    during the milking.
    Surgery on the Cows
    Around twenty or so years ago a milk
    controversy arose which was the following:
    Milk cows suffer from a displaced abomasum
    which is caused by an excess gas in the
    stomach. The surgery to prevent this is to
    puncture the abomasum which is the kevah
    in a number of different places. Some were

    concerned that this can make the milk non-
    kosher. However, based on many different

    reasons (beyond the scope of this article) the
    major kashrus organizations permit this.
    Bishul Akum on Milk
    Since milk is pasteurized before being bottled
    and sold. The question arises if milk is subject
    to the halachos of bishul akum, since the
    milk is drinkable without pasteurization.
    Pasteurization and Raw Milk
    Pasteurization is done to the milk because
    otherwise it is a danger to drink it raw.
    The dangers present in raw milk are:
    escherichia, listeria, salmonella, yersinia,
    and brucella. The pasteurization process
    uses heat to destroy harmful bacteria
    without significantly changing the milk’s
    natural value or flavor. Although some
    want to say that raw milk is healthier since
    the pasteurization kills nutrients, this is not
    the case.
    Some studies say that although raw milk is
    potentially dangerous, if it is handled the
    proper way it can be safe and healthy.
    Halachic Literature
    The Rambam in Machalos Asuros says
    that since raw milk is drinkable raw one
    is permitted to drink it after a non-Jew
    cooked it. This is also the opinion of the
    Mahrasham, the Shearim Metzuyanim
    B’halacha, and the Shevet Ha’Levi.
    The Minchas Yitzchok says those who are
    lenient refer to their times when milk was
    commonly consumed raw, but this changed
    today, and milk is not consumed raw by
    most people, and, there is a dispute in the
    poskim if something which is eatable raw
    by “some people” has the status as edible
    raw. The opinion of many of the poskim
    is that it has to be the custom of most
    people to eat the specific product raw, and

    accordingly raw milk would have a problem
    of bishul akum.
    However, the Minchas Yitzchok says one can
    be lenient for other reasons. 1. The cooking
    is done through steam and many poskim hold
    that steam is not subject to the halachos of
    bishul akum. 2. The pasteurization is made in
    a company setting.
    Whey
    During the cheese making process, after milk
    is coagulated, it is cut into small pieces and
    heated to allow most of the non-coagulated
    fluid to separate from the milk. The fluid
    which has not curdled is drained off the
    cheese as liquid whey which is called in
    halacha “nisyubei d’chalba.” This liquid is a
    mix of protein, lactose, minerals and water.
    There is a discussion in the poskim if mei
    cholov (which some hold is an issur d’oraisa
    to drink) is referring to whey or a different
    component of the milk product.
    The Cooking Process
    The cheese from which the whey is removed
    from is cooked to approximately 90°F which
    is below yad soledes bo. Ricotta cheese is
    made by cooking whey but is kosher since it
    is made from permitted whey.
    Opinions of the Poskim
    According to many poskim although whey is
    a direct result of the cheese making process, it
    is not subject to the halachos of gevinas akum.
    The opinion of Horav Moshe Feinstein zt”l is
    that all whey is permitted even if the cheese
    from which it was made from was not kosher
    and even if it was cooked higher than yad
    soledes bo and therefore absorbed some of the
    taste of the cheese. The reason is because the
    gezeira of gevinas akum was only in regard
    to actual cheese and not by-products. On the
    other hand the Shevet Ha’Levi maintains that
    when non-kosher rennet is used then the whey
    is permitted, but the cheese in which the whey
    will come from has to be cooked less than yad
    soledes bo. The opinion of the major kashrus
    organizations is to accept the later opinion
    and not let the cheese cook in a temperature
    hotter than 120°F.